2020 Asia-Pacific Commercial Mediation Competition

Winners and Awards

Grand Final Winners

National University of Singapore Team 1

Jonathan Lee Wai Kit, Eugene, Lau You Quan Chan & Haeyoung Kim

Winning Team Awards

Henry Jolson Prize

Presented by Barrister & Mediator, Glen Pauline, on behalf of the ADR Committee of Victorian Bar Association.

[Read Glen Pauline’s Full Speech Here]

Australian Disputes Centre Prize

Presented by Deborah Lockhart, CEO on behalf of the Australian Disputes Centre.

In law and in business, mediation skills are not only for mediators. Whether you are representing clients in mediation or a direct settlement conference, meeting clients one-on-one, closing an M&A deal, or simply negotiating your way through daily life at work and home; intensive mediation training is an invaluable professional skills development opportunity for all law and business students.

The Australian Disputes Centre awards each member of the winning team a voucher to complete ADC’s Accelerated Online Mediation Training & Accreditation Programme, valued at over AUD$16,000.

Runner-up Team

Singapore Management University

Kimberly Sim Wei Qing, Shu Li Chye, Seow Ling Ern & Benedict Koh Yen Hin

Special Mention – Preliminary Final Contestants

National University Of Singapore Team 2

Nalsar Team 1

Congratulations to All Participants

Top 8 Ranking Teams

1 NALSAR University of Law (Team 1)
2 National University of Singapore (Team 2)
3 National University of Singapore (Team 1)
4 Singapore Management University School of Law
5 NALSAR University of Law (Team 2)
6 University of Queensland
7 Monash University (Team 1)
8 Macquarie University

Special Category Awards

Best Mediation Plan

Monash University 1

Best Opening Statement

West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences

Best Mediation Advocacy Skill

University of Sydney

Best Team Work

NALSAR University of Law 1

Best Interaction With Mediator

National University of Singapore 1

Best Team Participating in the Competition for the first time

Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chile

Impromptu Speech Award

Presented – Peter McMullin from The Good Business Foundation

1st        Swini Khara, NALSAR University of Law 2

2nd       Chloe Chan, Southern Cross University

3rd        Teresa Lee, Auckland University

4th        Christopher Portway, University of Queensland

Dance Moves Award

Jaypy Pillay, National University Of Singapore