The Australian Alternative Dispute Resolution Awards for 2017 have been announced with a diverse group of winners recognised for their contributions to the development of Alternative Dispute Resolution in Australia in all its forms.

The Honourable Mr Robert French AC, former Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia, and patron of the Australian Disputes Centre (ADC), presented the awards at a ceremony held at Ashurst on August 10th 2017.

Among the winners are:

Mediator of the Year: Mary Walker, a leading member of the Sydney Bar who has championed ADR across a range of disputes and jurisdictions since 1990.

ATSI Mediator of the Year: Bronwyn Penrith, who supports families through Care mediations with enormous integrity and cultural sensitivity.

ADR Project of The Year: Mieke Brandon and Linda Kochanski for their work in developing an online diploma for Family Dispute Resolution Practitioners and their leadership of the National Mediation Conference.

ADR Practitioner of the Year: Georgia Quick, Partner, Ashurst as the lead disputes partner on a range of public and commercial projects.

The ADR Awards are held annually to recognise excellence within the ADR community, to foster the sharing of best practice and to encourage the further development of the field of Alternate Dispute Resolution.

All proceeds from the ADR Awards support the ADC’s National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander (ATSI) Mediation Training Scholarship Program. Recognizing the need for dispute resolution within the Aboriginal community, the program has impacted communities directly through facilitating and understanding the importance of peaceful avenues of resolving disputes, all while appreciative of cultural differences.

The full list of award winners is attached. Photos of the winners accepting their awards are available.

For further information, please contact Deborah Lockhart  9239 0700 or 0402 138 840.

Australian ADR Awards 2017 – Winners

Mediator of the Year

Mary Walker, Barrister, Sydney

ADR Practitioner of the Year

Georgia Quick, Partner, Ashurst, Sydney

 International ADR Practitioner

Sam Luttrell, Partner Clifford Chance, Perth

 ATSI Mediator of the Year

Bronwyn Penrith, Sydney

 Conciliator of the Year

Siobhan Ni Fhaolain, Administrative Appeals Tribunal, ACT

 ADR Practice Group of the Year

Clifford Chance, Perth

 Family Dispute Resolution Practitioner of the Year

Susan Hamilton-Green, Creative Family Law Solutions, Melbourne

 ADR Project of the Year

Mieke Brankdon & Linda Kochanski, Brisbane

 Courts and Tribunals ADR Group of the Year

Supreme Court of Western Australia